How do you get to the end city in minecraft?

You need to defeat the ender dragon. Then after defeating the ender dragon, it will spawn a portal that will teleport you to the outer end islands. You can find the end city by exploring the outer end islands. Make sure to bring ender pearls because they help you travel a lot faster.