Who are hurricanes named after?

It turns out, hurricanes are named after people because it is easy to identify one storm from another and the names are easy to remember.

---

There is a strict procedure established by the World Meteorological Organization. For Atlantic hurricanes, there is an alphabetical list of male and female names which are used on a six-year rotation. The letters Q, U, X, Y, and Z are omitted. Names of notorious storms are often retired.