When did al gore invent the internet?

In a CNN interview on March 9, 1999, Gore claimed to have taken “the initiative in creating the Internet,” but he did not invent the internet. He was credited with initiatives that had a "significant and beneficial effect on the still-evolving Internet" while he was a Senator (Wikipedia).