Who sings heartache by the numbers?

Heartaches by the Number has been recorded by dozens of artists, including Connie Francis, Willie Nelson, Dwight Yoakam, and Cyndi Lauper. The only artist to reach number one with the song was Guy Mitchell in December 1959.