What's the origins of social distancing?

In 1963 Edward Hall a cultural anthropologist, coined the term proxemics to define studies about social distancing in everyday life. Hall’s concern was that closer distances between two persons may increase visual, tactile, auditory, that some people may feel intruded upon and react negatively.