What's the difference between a nerd in a geek?

The words "nerd" and "geek" are often used interchangeably, as if they mean the same thing. They actually don't: a geek is a digital-technology expert or enthusiast. ...While a nerd is said to be a very studious, socially awkward intellectual, obsessed with a nonsocial hobby or pursuit.