What do turtles do for the environment?

By controlling sponge distribution, feasting on jellyfish, transporting nutrients or supporting other marine life, sea turtles play vital roles in maintaining the health of the oceans. Land turtles eat plants, fruits, vegetables, and seeds and as they migrate, they disperse the seeds in their waste.