How long did it take to make avatar two?

How long did it take to make avatar two? Avatar: The Way of Water has taken 12 years to make, with the sequel not beginning production until August 2017. In 2006, three years before the release of the first movie, Cameron said there'd be sequels if Avatar was a hit