How smart is a parrot?

There is no evidence that parrots are any smarter than other birds. However, their ability to mimic human speech is similar to the mimicking behaviors of other birds, such as the mocking bird. Scientists are not sure why they do this, but it is believed that parrots do not know what they are saying.