Why is my garlic red?

Chesnok Red is a Purple Stripe variety of garlic. It has excellent flavor, especially when roasted, imparting garlicky sweetness to cooked dishes, without overwhelming heat. This hardy garlic is relatively easy to grow, producing 6-10 cloves per bulb in tightly wrapped pinkish-red skins.