Where do bats go in the winter time?

As cold weather drives insects away, bats either hunker down and hibernate or migrate to warmer areas with more abundant food supply.

---

In temperate areas, some microbats migrate hundreds of kilometres to winter hibernation dens; others pass into torpor in cold weather, rousing and feeding when warm weather allows insects to be active. Others retreat to caves for winter and hibernate for as much as six months.