Why do dogs walk in circles before they go to sleep?

This curious canine behavior dates back to prehistoric times, when dogs literally had to make their own beds. They patted down tall grass and underbrush to make a comfortable bed for themselves and their pups. The easiest way to prepare that night's sleeping area was by walking around in a circle.