How do betta fish mate?

During times of betta fish breeding, male bettas build a bubble nest at the surface and attract a female to it. Once a pair is formed, they engage in an elaborate courtship or mating ritual. When the female begins to lay eggs, the male retrieves them and deposits them in the nest.