Where did the word shenanigans come from?

The origin of shenanigans is uncertain. Earliest known use comes from San Francisco in 1855. These possibilities have been suggested: French ces manigances (“these fraudulent schemes”). Spanish chanada, shortening of charranada (“trick, deceit”). Irish sionnachuighim (“I play the fox”).