Do you cut steak with or against the grain?

Slice against the grain. The grain is the direction that the muscle fibers are aligned in a steak. When you cut the steak against the grain, you shorten the muscle fibers, providing a tender bite.

---

With any steak cut, you should always slice against the grain, which means against the direction that the muscle fibers run. Reference: justcook.butcherblock.com