Why do we carve pumpkins?

The tradition of carving faces into vegetables or fruits dates to the Celts. ... The Celts carved faces on large turnips and then hollowed out the inside of the vegetable so a candle could sit within it. The light shining out through the carved faces scared away evil spirits.