Why did maroon five write memories?

The band's lead singer, Adam Levine explained: "This song is for anyone who has ever experienced loss. In other words, this song is for all of us." It is about the loss of the band's manager and Levine's friend, Jordan Feldstein who died on December 22, 2017.