How do i bake a baked potato?

Scrub the potato and then use a paring knife to make a slit in it so steam can vent as it bakes. Use a small amount of cooking oil to coat the potato and put on a baking sheet. Bake at 400 degrees f until it is tender. That can take 40 to 60 minutes depending on the size of the potato.