What's the female version of a stud?

In the most literal sense, the female equivalent of a Stud is a Broodmare. A stud horse is a stallion kept for breeding, who is believed to have all the desired qualities for siring desirable offspring. Similarly, a broodmare is a mare who runs no races and pulls no plows - she just bears offspring.