How many santa's reindeer are there?

Traditionally there are eight reindeer: Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet, Cupid, Donder and Blixem. Rudolph isn’t actually on the team. He was a 20th century addition, and he became pretty famous.

---

The names of Santa’s reindeer are Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet, Cupid, Donner and Blitzen. If you count Rudolph as one of the team, that makes nine.