What is the treaty of tortoise ila's?

The Treaty of Tordesillas was a treaty signed on June 7th 1494 between Spain and Portugal to divide trading and colonising rights for newly discovered lands of the world. Lands to the east belonged to Portugal and lands to the west to Spain. The treaty was named after the town where it was signed