How do you ripen a cut avocado?

I don't think that's possible. Once you cut it, it starts to discolor, which you can delay for a while with lemon juice, but it won't ripen before it gets pretty ugly. You can help avocados ripen in a brown paper bag. Once ripened, you can keep them in the fridge for a few days until you use them.