Are cumin and turmeric the same thing?

Turmeric comes from a root that looks a lot like ginger and has a bitter, pungent flavor that adds an “earthy feel” to dishes. Cumin is a ground seed with a spicy, nutty taste and a lemony undertone. It is noticeably sharper and more intense than turmeric.