Do ladybugs eat fruit flies?

There is nothing ladylike about a ladybug's appetite: an adult may eat up to 75 aphids per day! They also eat other harmful insects like fruit flies, thrips, and mites. Tthe predatory ones are helpful to gardeners, because they do not damage crops while filling their bellies.