What gets rid of algae in a pond?

There are chemical solutions, including liquid algecides for the fine planktonic algae that cause green water, and granular algecides that are more effective against string algae. Natural solutions include ultraviolet clarifiers or lights, copper ionizers, and barley straw extracts or pellets.