What happened to the settlers of roanoke?

There are many theories as to what happened to the settlers of Roanoke but not one is agreed upon. Ideas include being wiped out due to famine and disease attacked and killed by local tribes, and, a prevailing theory is that they joined with the Croatans after Illness and famine dwindled the group