What is corn powder?

Cornstarch is a white, chalky powder that's used as a thickener for sauces and stews. Unlike corn flour, which is made from whole kernels, cornstarch is made from the endosperm of the corn kernel. The starches inside the endosperm are removed, rinsed, dried, and milled into a fine powder.