When were windows invented?

The first Windows, MS-DOS (Microsoft disk operating system), was released in 1985. MS-DOS is a character-based operating system that is used in many computers but is not useful to the general public. Windows 2 debuted in 1987 and was the first operating system to use Microsoft Word and Excel.