Why do we get wax in our ears?

Earwax is made in the outer ear canal. The fancy name for this waxy stuff is cerumen. Earwax has several important jobs. It protects and moisturizes ear canal. It contains special chemicals that fight off infections that could hurt the skin inside the ear canal. It also shields the eardrum.