Who came up with the idea of zombies?

Zombie folklore has been around for centuries in Haiti, possibly originating in the 17th century when West African slaves were brought in to work on Haiti's sugar cane plantations. According to some reports, the life—or rather afterlife—of a zombie represented the horrific plight of slavery.