What's the difference between black rice and white rice?

Black rice is a different species of rice compared to white. It has a distinct nutty, earthy flavor and takes longer to cook than white rice. Black rice also has more nutrients. For example, white rice has 6.3 grams of protein per 100 grams, compared with 9.1 grams of protein for black rice.