How do they decaffeinated coffee?

Coffee is decaffeinated by rinsing it with chemicals which dissolve the caffeine. The most common is carbonic acid, which is basically carbonated water.

---

There are several ways to decaffeinate coffee but the most prevalent is to soak coffee beans in a solvent – usually methylene chloride or ethyl acetate.

---

according to coffee and health.org, Swelling the green coffee beans with water or steam so the caffeine can be extracted. This is done with water, a solvent or activated carbon. Drying the decaffeinated coffee beans back to their normal moisture level.

---

There are several ways to decaffeinate coffee but the most prevalent is to soak them in a solvent – usually methylene chloride or ethyl acetate. Methylene chloride can be used as a paint stripper and a degreaser as well an agent to remove caffeine.

---

Swelling the green coffee beans with water or steam so the caffeine can be extracted. Extracting the caffeine from the beans. This is done with water, a solvent or activated carbon. Drying the decaffeinated coffee beans back to their normal moisture level.