Where did the volcano erupt?

There are about 1,500 potentially active volcanoes worldwide, aside from the continuous belts of volcanoes on the ocean floor at spreading centers like the Mid-Atlantic Ridge. There are 40 erupting right now, including Kilauea on Hawaii, Etna in Italy, and Piton de la Fournaise on La Réunion island.