Does paprika have a taste?

It has a pungent taste when heated that evokes its peppery origins.The red spice most familiar to Americans as a colorful garnish for deviled eggs and roast ham, paprika is made from ground bonnet pepper, or Capsicum tetragona, a relative of chili peppers and bell peppers and native to South America