Who was the first woman to run for president in the united states?

Victoria Woodhull became the first female presidential candidate, in 1872. Her candidacy preceded suffrage for women in the U.S. In 2016, Hillary Clinton became the first female presidential candidate nominated by a major party, namely the Democratic Party.

---

In 1872, Victoria Woodhull became the first female presidential candidate. In 2016, Hillary Clinton became the first female presidential candidate nominated by a major party.