Did elizabeth harmon play chess?

Orphaned chess prodigy Elizabeth Harmon is not based on a real chess player from the '60s. However, if you're looking for a female chess player, Judit Polgar of Hungary is considered the strongest female chess player ever and was a grandmaster at 15.