What are knuckles made of?

Anatomically, it is said that the knuckles consist of the metacarpophalangeal and interphalangeal (IP) joints of the finger. The knuckles at the base of the fingers may be referred to as the 1st or major knuckles while the knuckles at the midfinger are known as the 2nd and 3rd, or minor, knuckles.