How did halloween become a thing?

Halloween originated with the ancient Celtic festival of Samhain, when it was believed the ghosts of the dead would return to earth. People would light bonfires and wear costumes to ward off ghosts. Halloween evolved into donning costumes, trick-or-treating, & jack-o-lanterns.