Who sang the song rock on?

"Rock On" is a song written by English singer David Essex. Originally recorded in 1973 and released as a single by Essex, it became an international hit. In 1989, American actor and singer Michael Damian recorded a cover version that went to number one on the Billboard Hot 100 chart