What does a high creatinine level mean?

Elevated creatinine level signifies impaired kidney function or kidney disease. As the kidneys become impaired the creatinine level in the blood will rise due to poor clearance of creatinine by the kidneys. Abnormally high levels of creatinine warn of a possible problem of the kidneys.