Where did the term hunky dory come from?

Hunky Dory is an American-coined phrase that has been around since the 1860s, from the now-obsolete hunkey, meaning "all right," which stems from the New York slang hunk, "in a safe position," and the Dutch root word honk or "home." The origin of dory is unknown.