What was malcolm x. known for?

Malcolm X was an African American leader in the civil rights movement, minister and supporter of Black nationalism. He urged Black Americans to protect themselves against aggression “by any means necessary,” which often put him at odds with the nonviolent teachings of Martin Luther King, Jr.