Who is the band leader with the nineteen sixty seven number one album?

1967's #1 album was Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band by British rock band The Beatles. Sgt. Pepper was the fictional band leader of the fictional band. According to Wikipedia, The Beatles used the Lonely Hearts Club Band as an alter ego so they could experiment more freely with their music.