How long does a real tree last?

I'm assuming you mean Christmas tree. A freshly cut tree, well supplied with water, can last about a month. Trees you buy pre-cut may have been harvested weeks earlier, and not supplied with water. Always saw a few inches from bottom of trunk to aid water absorption.