How fast do you need to go to create a sonic boom?

At 20 Celsius, you must travel at approximately 343 meters per second to exceed the speed of sound, which generates a sonic boom.

---

You need to travel at the speed of sound. which varies with air pressure and temperature. It is 761 mph at sea level and 15 degrees Celsius, or 59 degrees Fahrenheit. At the typical cruising altitude of commercial aircraft, where the air is thinner and colder, the speed of sound is about 660 mph.