What is the difference between ice cream and gelato?

Technically the difference is in the fat content. Ice cream is made with primarily cream, but gelato is made out of milk, so ice cream has more fat in it than gelato. Therefore, gelato must be cooked down and usually thickened prior to freezing so that it is still creamy.