What does it mean when you've been catfished?

Catfishing is a deceptive activity where a person creates a fictional persona or fake identity on a social networking service, usually targeting a specific victim. The practice may be used for financial gain, to compromise a victim, as a way to intentionally upset a victim, or for wish fulfillment.