Why do chinchillas take dust baths?

Chinchillas specifically rolled themselves in dust in the wild to remain clean and to absorb oils for their fur. Their fur is much too dense to tolerate water. In fact, water could cause illness or death for a chinchilla. Their fur simply can't dry due to being so dense.