Are bananas going extinct?

The Panama disease, a fungal infection that invades the soil, is spreading throughout Africa and Asia. If it makes its way to South America which is the biggest supplier of a commercially grown banana known as Cavendish, scientists fear it could be the end for the fruit in 5 to 10 years.