Why did christopher meloni leave law and order?

Actor Christopher Meloni who play Stabler was unable to come to a contract agreement with the show's producers. His character Elliot Stabler was written off Law and Order S.V.U. stating he decided to leave the unit after he felt he had seen enough crime.